June 29, 2022 – The South Central Jurisdiction Committee on Episcopacy has decided, in consultation with the College of Bishops, to recommend that the Jurisdictional Conference elect three new bishops in November 2022.

With three elections, the SCJ would have a total of nine bishops available to be assigned to nine of the 10 current episcopal areas. The tenth episcopal area will be left open with episcopal coverage to be determined by the Council of Bishops upon recommendation from the SCJ College of Bishops immediately following the adjournment of Jurisdictional Conference. That area is anticipated to be the Northwest Texas/New Mexico area, which is currently covered by active SCJ bishops. The recommendation to provide coverage rather than assignment for the tenth episcopal area was due to missional reasons related to continuity of leadership.