During the 2023 Annual Conference, held earlier this month, Bishop Robert Schnase announced that Kathy Jewell would be serving as the NM Conference Lay Leader (at least for the year). Kathy will wear a number of hats. She will serve on the Cabinet and assist with the appointment process and other high level decisions, which require the voice of the laity to be heard. She will also Chair the Board of Laity and continue her work as Director of Laity Training.

The ABQ District Lay Leader is Larry Luna. Terry Allen will replace Kathy as the El Paso District Lay Leader.